West Lulworth

a Registered One-Place Study and part of the Dorset OPC network

News - 1864

Dorset County Chronicle and Somersetshire Gazette - 4 August 1864


The bazaar in aid of the fund for restoring the parish church of West Lulworth (not Wool, as stated in our last), and which was held under the patronage of Lady Emily Williams, Mrs. Bond, and Mrs. Mansel, in an enclosure near the Preventive Station, proved highly successful, and was well patronized during the time the volunteers were on duty. The arrangement of the stalls was very picturesque, and this was not one of the least attractions of the grand week in this delightful little nook on our sea girt coast. The patronesses' stall, which occupied the centre, was presided over by Lady Emily Williams, who had taken great interest in the details, Mrs. Bond, and Mrs. Gildea, who were assisted by the Misses Symes, and R. Williams, Esq., jun. Another stall was occupied by Mrs. Coombs and Mrs. Gunning, assisted by the Misses Coombs; and the third by Mrs. Randall, who had as her coadjutors Miss Randall, Miss Style, Miss Steele, and the Misses Harris. Through the efforts of these ladies we are happy to hear that about £120 was received for the above very laudable work, besides which Colonel Manuel and Capt. Hambro each made a donation of £5, and other contributions were kindly made by several officers in the battalion. We hope many will follow this example, and that in place of the present dilapidated structure, we may shortly see a church worthy of such a beautiful little place as West Lulworth.


News Index